Armenia Caucus Co-Chairs Issue Statement on Azerbaijani Attacks on Armenia

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman David G. Valadao (CA-21) joined fellow Co-Chairs of the Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues Reps. Adam Schiff (CA-28), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Gus M. Bilirakis (FL-12), and Jackie Speier (CA-14) in issuing the following statement on Azerbaijani attacks on Armenia:

“We strongly condemn the escalation of hostilities by Azerbaijani forces in southern Armenia. Azerbaijan’s deadly attacks in sovereign Armenian territory are exactly the actions President Aliyev has frequently employed since the 2020 Nagorno-Karabakh War. President Aliyev continues to use his unmet territorial demands, that Armenia cannot and should not follow, as justification to attack Armenian positions. Unfortunately, world leaders stand idly by and make false equivocations between the two sides. There is only one aggressor in this conflict that must be stopped. We urge the Biden Administration to take immediate actions to halt Azerbaijan’s aggressions and finally hold Aliyev accountable for his destabilizing actions.”